Fire

It still feels like the first time I saw them;
They burned like fire;
One look..
One look is all it took
to turn my soul to ashes.
The round of those eyes
was my world.
And I was an insignificant figure
somewhere in that expanse.
When they smiled
my heart leapt with joy.
When they wept
my soul exploded into minute fragments;
scattered like forgotten confetti.
I could see fire in them;
Could feel them burn my skin.
Those eyes-
They reduced me to mere ashes.
In the sea of those eyes,
I lost myself, never to be found again.
They engulfed me whole;
Captured my very essence.
It was those eyes–
They haunt me still…
Imploring and questioning.
They spoke million words
without uttering a sound.
They were my lifeline.
But one day…
One bloody day in May
they turned away,
never to look back again.
That day I lost my world;
That day I shut my heart;
That day I lost my soul.
Those eyes- they still
 burn me without a glance.

Author: radhikamukherji

I am a simple girl with my finger in a lot of pies. A student of literature, I am also a guitarist and vocalist. I love travelling and my dream is to backpack across the world. Connecting with people from all walks of life is my primary hobby; others include painting (expressionism), adventure sports, dancing, writing and procrastinating. I wish to share the way I see the world with you folks. Hope you get something out of it. Cheers :)

Leave a Reply

